The Annie E. Casey Foundation: Helping vulnerable kids & families succeed

KIDS COUNT

Home > Initiatives > KIDS COUNT > KIDS COUNT State Organizations
share post tweet Email Print

KIDS COUNT State Organizations

The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds a nationwide network of state-level KIDS COUNT projects that provide a more detailed, community-by-community picture of the condition of children. KIDS COUNT state organizations improve programs and policies for children and families by collecting and reporting credible data and promoting the use of data-based advocacy and communications strategies.



Alabama

Melanie Bridgeforth
Executive Director

VOICES for Alabama's Children
P.O. Box 4576
Montgomery, AL 36103
(334) 213-2410 ext. 106
(334) 213-2413 fax
mbridgeforth@alavoices.org
www.alavoices.org

Alaska

Virgene Hanna
Project Director

KIDS COUNT Alaska
University of Alaska Anchorage
Institute of Social and Economic Research
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508
(907) 786-5431
(907) 786-7739 fax
mhanna7@uaa.alaska.edu 
kidscount.alaska.edu

Arizona

Dana Wolfe Naimark
President/CEO

Children's Action Alliance
4001 North 3rd Street, Suite 160
Phoenix, AZ 85012
(602) 266-0707 ext. 214
(602) 263-8792 fax
dnaimark@azchildren.org
www.azchildren.org

Arkansas

Rich Huddleston
Executive Director

Arkansas Advocates for Children & Families
Union Station, Suite 306
1400 West Markham
Little Rock, AR 72201
(501) 371-9678 ext. 114
(501) 371-9681 fax
Rhuddleston@aradvocates.org
www.aradvocates.org

California

Jessica Mindnich
Director of Research


Children Now
1404 Franklin Street, Suite 700
Oakland, CA 94612
(510) 763-2444 ext. 115
(510) 763-1974 fax
jmindnich@childrennow.org
www.childrennow.org

Colorado

Sarah Hughes
Research Director

Colorado Children's Campaign
1580 Lincoln Street, Suite 420
Denver, CO 80203-1604
(303) 620-4527
(303) 839-1354 fax
sarah@coloradokids.org
www.coloradokids.org

Connecticut

Jillian Gilchrest
Assistant Director

Connecticut Association for Human Services
110 Bartholomew Avenue, Suite 4030
Hartford, CT 06106
(860) 951-2212 ext. 233
(860) 951-6511 fax
jgilchrest@cahs.org
www.cahs.org

Delaware

Janice Barlow
Director, KIDS COUNT in Delaware

University of Delaware
298K Graham Hall
Newark, DE 19716
(302) 831-4966
(302) 831-4225 fax
jls@udel.edu
www.ccrs.udel.edu/kids-count

District of Columbia

HyeSook Chung
Executive Director

DC Action for Children
1432 K Street, NW, Suite 1050
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 234-9404
(202) 204-5666 fax
hchung@dckids.org
www.dcactionforchildren.org

Florida

Susan Weitzel
Director

Florida KIDS COUNT
Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute
College of Behavioral & Community Sciences
University of South Florida
13301 Bruce B. Downs Boulevard, MHC 2502
Tampa, FL 33612
(813) 974-7411
(813) 974-8534 fax
weitzel@usf.edu
www.floridakidscount.org

Georgia

Rebecca Rice
KIDS COUNT Coordinator

Georgia Family Connection Partnership, Inc.
235 Peachtree Street, Suite 1600
Atlanta, GA 30303
(404) 527-7394 ext.103
(404) 527-7443 fax
rebecca@gafcp.org
www.gafcp.org
www.promisingpractices.net

Hawaii


Ivette Stern
Director

Center on the Family
University of Hawaii Center on the Family
2515 Campus Road - Miller 103
Honolulu, HI 96822
(808) 956-5303
(808) 956-4147 fax
istern@hawaii.edu

www.uhfamily.hawaii.edu

Idaho

Lauren Necochea
KIDS COUNT Director

Mountain States Group
1607 West Jefferson Street
Boise, ID 83702
(208) 336-5533 ext. 246
(208) 331-0267 fax
lnecochea@mtnstatesgroup.org
www.idahokidscount.org

Illinois

Anne Klassman
KIDS COUNT Project Manager

Voices for Illinois Children
208 South LaSalle Street, Suite 1490
Chicago, IL 60604-1120
(312) 516-5564
(312) 456-0088 fax
aklassman@voices4kids.org 
www.voices4kids.org

Indiana

Julie Whitman
VP of Programs

Indiana Youth Institute
603 East Washington Street, Suite 800
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2692
(317) 396-2714
(317) 396-2701 fax
jwhitman@iyi.org
www.iyi.org

Iowa

Michael Crawford
Senior Associate

Child & Family Policy Center
505 5th Avenue, Suite 404
Des Moines, IA 50309
(515) 280-9027
(515) 244-8997 fax
mcrawford@cfpciowa.org

www.cfpciowa.org

Kansas

Hilary Gee
Director of Health Policy

Kansas Action for Children
720 SW Jackson, Suite 201
Topeka, KS 66603
(785) 232-0550
(785) 232-0699 fax 
hilary@kac.org
www.kac.org

Kentucky

Katie Carter
Policy Director

Kentucky Youth Advocates, Inc.
11001 Bluegrass Parkway, Suite 100
Jeffersontown, KY 40299
(502) 895-8167 ext. 128
(502) 895-8225 fax
kcarter@kyyouth.org
www.kyyouth.org

Louisiana

Teresa Falgoust
KIDS COUNT Coordinator

Agenda for Children
8300 Earhart Boulevard, Ste. 201
New Orleans, LA 70118
(504) 586-8509 ext. 117
(504) 586-9172 fax
tfalgoust@agendaforchildren.org
www.agendaforchildren.org

Maine

Claire Berkowitz
Executive Director

Maine Children's Alliance
303 State Street
Augusta, ME 04330
(207) 623-1868 ext. 206
(207) 626-3302 fax
cberk@mekids.org
www.mekids.org

Maryland

Al Passarella, MPA
Research and Policy Associate

Advocates for Children & Youth, Inc.
8 Market Place, 5th Floor
Bernstein Building
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 547-9200, ext. 3012
(410) 547-8690 fax
apassarella@acy.org
www.acy.org

Massachusetts

Noah Berger
President

Massachusetts Budget and Policy Center 
15 Court Square, Suite 700
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 426-1288 ext. 102 
(617) 695-1295 fax
nberger@massbudget.org
www.massbudget.org

Michigan

Jane Zehnder-Merrell
KIDS COUNT Project Director

Michigan League for Public Policy
1223 Turner Street, Suite 1G
Lansing, MI 48906
(517) 487-5436
(517) 371-4546 fax
janezm@mlpp.org
www.mlpp.org

Minnesota

Peggy Flanagan
Executive Director

Children's Defense Fund - Minnesota
555 Park Street, Suite 410
St. Paul, MN 55103
(651) 855-1171
(651) 227-2553 fax
Flanagan@cdf-mn.org 
www.cdf-mn.org

Mississippi

Linda Southward
MS KIDS COUNT Director

Family and Children Research Unit
Social Science Research Center
Mississippi State University
P.O. Box 5287
1 Research Building
Mississippi State, MS 39762
(662) 325-0851
(662) 325-7966 fax
Linda.Southward@ssrc.msstate.edu
www.ssrc.msstate.edu/MSKIDSCOUNT

Missouri

At this time, there is no KIDS COUNT grantee in Missouri.

Montana

Thale Dillon
Director

Bureau of Business and Economic Research
University of Montana
School of Business Administration
231 Gallagher Business Building
Missoula, MT 59812-6840
(406) 243-2780
(406) 243-2086 fax
thale.dillon@umontana.edu
www.montanakidscount.org

Nebraska

Chrissy Tonkinson
Research Coordinator, KIDS COUNT

Voices for Children in Nebraska
7521 Main Street, Suite 103
Omaha, NE 68127
(402) 597-3100
(402) 597-2705 fax 
ctonkinson@voicesforchildren.com
www.voicesforchildren.com

Nevada

Rennae Daneshvary
Director of Nevada KIDS COUNT

Center for Business & Economic Research
University of Nevada Las Vegas
Box 456002
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89154-6002
(702) 895-3191
(702) 895-3606 fax
rennae.daneshvary@unlv.edu
http://kidscount.unlv.edu

New Hampshire

Ellen Fineberg
Executive Director

New Hampshire Kids Count
Two Delta Drive, Suite 201
Concord, NH 03301
(603) 225-2264
(603) 226-7290 fax
efineberg@nhkidscount.org 
www.nhkidscount.org

New Jersey

Cecilia Zalkind
Executive Director

Advocates for Children of New Jersey
35 Halsey Street
Newark, NJ 07102
(973) 643-3876
(973) 643-9153 fax
czalkind@acnj.org
www.acnj.org

New Mexico

Veronica C. Garcia. Ed.D.
Executive Director

New Mexico Voices for Children
625 Silver Avenue SW, Suite 195
Albuquerque, NM 87102
(505) 244-9505
(505) 244-9509 fax
vgarcia@nmvoices.org
www.nmvoices.org

New York

Mary DeMasi
NYS KIDS COUNT/KWIC Director

New York State Council on Children & Families
52 Washington Street
West Building, Suite 99
Rensselaer, NY 12144
(518) 473-6038
(518) 473-2570 fax
mary.demasi@ccf.ny.gov
www.ccf.ny.gov

North Carolina

Laila Bell
Director of Research and Data

NC Child
3109 Poplarwood Court, Suite 300  
Raleigh, NC 27604
(919) 834-6623 ext. 225
(919) 829-7299 fax
laila@ncchild.org
www.ncchild.org

North Dakota

Karen Olson
Program Director, North Dakota KIDS COUNT

North Dakota KIDS COUNT
North Dakota State University
Department 2362
P.O. Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
(701) 231-5931
(701) 231-5118 fax
k.olson@ndsu.edu 
www.ndkidscount.org

Ohio

Dawn Wallace-Pascoe
KIDS COUNT Project Manager

Children's Defense Fund - Ohio
395 E. Broad Street – Suite 330
Columbus, OH 43215
(614) 221-2244
(614) 221-2247 fax
dwallacepascoe@childrensdefense.org
www.cdfohio.org

Oklahoma

Terry Smith
Executive Director

Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy
3909 NW Classen Blvd., Suite 101
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
(405) 236-5437 ext. 101
(405) 236-5439 fax
tsmith@oica.org
www.oica.org

Oregon

Tonia Hunt
Executive Director

Children First for Oregon
P.O. Box 14914
Portland, OR 97293-0914
(503) 236-9754 ext. 104
(503) 236.3048 fax
tonia@cffo.org
www.cffo.org

Pennsylvania

Kelly Hoffman
KIDS COUNT Director

Pennsylvania Partnerships for Children
116 Pine Street, Suite 430
Harrisburg, PA 17101-1244
(717) 236-5680
(717) 236-7745 fax
khoffman@papartnerships.org
www.papartnerships.org

Puerto Rico

At this time, there is no KIDS COUNT grantee in Puerto Rico.

Rhode Island

Elizabeth Burke Bryant
Executive Director

Rhode Island KIDS COUNT
1 Union Station
Providence, RI 02903
(401) 351-9400 ext. 12
(401) 351-1758 fax
ebb@rikidscount.org

www.rikidscount.org

South Carolina

Sue Williams
Chief Executive Officer

The Children's Trust of South Carolina
1634 Main Street, Suite 100
Columbia, SC  29201
(803) 744-4023
(803) 744-4020 fax
swilliams@scchildren.org
www.scchildren.org

South Dakota

Carole Cochran
Project Director, South Dakota KIDS COUNT

Beacom School of Business
University of South Dakota
414 East Clark Street, Room 305
Vermillion, SD 57069-2390
(605) 677-6432
(605) 677-5427 fax
sdkidscount@usd.edu
www.sdkidscount.org

Tennessee

Linda O’Neal
Executive Director

Tennessee Commission on Children and Youth
Andrew Jackson Buidling, 9th Flr.
502 Deaderick Street
Nashville, TN 37243-0800
(615) 532-1600
(615) 741-5956 fax
linda.oneal@tn.gov
www.tn.gov/tccy/index.shtml

Texas

Frances Deviney
Texas KIDS COUNT Director

Center for Public Policy Priorities
7020 Easy Wind Drive, Suite 200
Austin, TX 78752
(512) 320-0222 ext. 106
(512) 320-0227 fax
deviney@cppp.org
http://forabettertexas.org/childwellbeing.html

United States Virgin Islands

Dee Baecher-Brown
President

CFVI, Inc.
P.O. Box 11790
St. Thomas, USVI 00801
(340) 774-6031
(340) 774-3852 fax
dbrown@cfvi.net
www.cfvi.net

Utah

Terry Haven
Deputy Director

Voices for Utah Children
747 E. South Temple Street – Suite 100
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
(801) 364-1182
(801) 364-1186 fax
terryh@utahchildren.org

www.utahchildren.org

Vermont

Carlen Finn
Executive Director

Voices for Vermont’s Children
P.O. Box 261
Montpelier, VT 05601
(802) 229-6377
(802) 229-4929 fax
carlenf@voicesforvtkids.org
www.voicesforvermontschildren.org

Virginia

Margaret Nimmo Crowe
Executive Director

Voices for Virginia's Children
701 East Franklin Street, Suite 807
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 649-0184 ext. 23
(804) 649-0161 fax
Margaret@vakids.org
www.vakids.org

Washington

Paola Maranan
Executive Director

Children's Alliance
718 Sixth Ave. South
Seattle, WA 98104
(206) 324-0340 ext 16
(206) 325-6291 fax
paola@childrensalliance.org
http://childrensalliance.org

West Virginia

Margie Hale
Executive Director

West Virginia KIDS COUNT Fund
1206 Virginia Street E, Suite 104
Charleston, WV 25301
(304) 345-2101
(304) 345-2102 fax
margiehale@wvkidscountfund.org
www.wvkidscountfund.org

Wisconsin

Jim Moeser
Deputy Director

Wisconsin Council on Children & Families
555 West Washington Avenue, Suite 200
Madison, WI 53703
(608) 284-0580 ext. 316
(608) 284-0583 fax
jmoeser@wccf.org
www.wccf.org

Wyoming

At this time, there is no KIDS COUNT grantee in Wyoming.